In addition, the agreement provides for the uniform integration of a free trade agreement that would allow the countries concerned to protect themselves from imports that could harm vulnerable domestic industry. SACU has signed a trade agreement with the countries of the European Free Trade Association (EFTA), Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. The agreement came into force on May 1, 2008. Trade between the parties to this agreement is reciprocal and SACU-EFTA tariffs are reduced as a percentage of general tariffs for products originating in countries with which Botswana has no commercial age. Free Trade Agreement between the countries of the European Free Trade Association and the countries of the Southern African Customs Union (EFTA-SACU Free Trade Agreement) The agreement created a joint committee to monitor the implementation of the trade agreement. This committee met for the first time on 4 February 2009 in Pretoria, South Africa, preceded on 3 February 2009 by meetings of agricultural experts and the subcommittee on customs and origin. The trade agreement between the South African Customs Union (SACU) and the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is a free trade agreement signed in 2006 and entered into force on 1 May 2008. It comprises 9 countries: 4 are EFTA members (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland) and 5 are saCU members (Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland). The aim of the agreement is to deepen relations between the parties, create favourable conditions for trade and promote economic integration and social development in SACU Member States, with the support of EFTA. In 2010, the SACU secretariat also commissioned a study on a possible trade agreement between SACU and the East African Community (EAC). In 2011, SACU endorsed a number of principles that guide free trade agreements and prioritized the continuation of agreements with Mercosur and India. Trade in agricultural commodities is covered by bilateral agreements between each EFTA state and SACU.

Коментарите са затворени.